Skip Navigation
Welcome to the Teachers Retirement Association
Home | MyTRA Login | Contact Us | Search | Facebook badge


Board of Trustees

TRA is managed by a board of eight trustees. The board consists of five elected trustees and three statutory members representing the Minnesota School Boards Association, the Commissioner of Education and the Commissioner of Minnesota Budget and Management. Four of the five elected trustees are active members of the Association and one is a retiree of the Association. The administrative management of the Association is the responsibility of the Executive Director who is appointed by the Board of Trustees.

The Board of Trustees meets approximately six times per year to oversee the administration of the pension fund. Although the State Board of Investment manages all retirement investments, the trustees are required to become knowledgeable in both pension administration and investments under state law. The trustees annually elect a president and a vice-president.

As fiduciaries, trustees are held to a standard of care called the prudent person rule under which they must exercise their decisions in the same careful manner that they would use in making their own retirement decisions.

Trustees are also obligated to consider the benefit needs of all pension fund participants regardless of any individual constituency that may have been instrumental in their election. Trustees are required to file an annual Statement of Economic Interest with the Minnesota Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board.

Photo of Marti Zins Martha Lee (Marti) Zins, President Elected Trustee (Retiree)
17509 Saddlewood Lane, Minnetonka, MN 55345

Martha Lee (Marti) Zins, Board President and Elected Trustee (Retiree) of the Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association (TRA) was a media specialist, then media director for the Hopkins School District.  Marti was elected to her sixth term on the Board of Trustees in 2009. She is a past president of the Minnesota Education Association (MEA), and represented Minnesota teachers as a director of the National Education Association (NEA).  A TRA trustee since 1989, Zins serves the needs of Minnesota teachers with a special emphasis on the expansion of automated services that increase accessibility of information to members and retirees throughout the state.  She works to maintain the funding stability of TRA and of defined benefit public pension plans.  
Term expires: June 30, 2021

Photo of Mary Broderick Mary L. Broderick, Vice President
Elected Trustee
1003 - 31st Avenue N, St. Cloud, MN 56303

Mary Broderick, a teacher in St. Cloud since 1977, and president of the St. Cloud Education Association since 1996, was elected to her first four-year term as a member of the Board of Trustees in 2007. Mary also serves as president of the East Central Area Labor Council, sits on the Executive Board of the Minnesota AFL-CIO, and is a member of the Education Minnesota Council of Local Presidents. Mary is committed to helping retirees and active members increase their awareness, understanding, and involvement in pension issues, as well as working to maintain and improve teacher retirement benefits in Minnesota.
Term expires: June 30, 2019

Marshall Thompson
Elected Trustee
7421 W. Lake St.
St. Louis Park, MN 55426

Marshall Thompson, elected to the Board of Trustees in 2015, has been a math teacher within Osseo Area Schools since 2004 and currently serves in the role of Instructional Coach at both Osseo and Maple Grove Senior High Schools. He is Education Minnesota – Osseo’s lead negotiator, and has been on the bargaining team since 2010. He also currently serves on Education Minnesota's Governing Board. Marshall is committed to raising awareness of the value of TRA for active members, working toward equitable benefits, and maintaining our strong pension system.
Term expires: June 30, 2019

Will Baumann
Elected Trustee
15104 County Road 5 NW
New London, MNĀ  56273
(218) 639-2017

Will Baumann, elected to the Board of Trustees in 2017, has been a teacher at Ridgewater College since 2015. He is currently president of the Minnesota Mathematical Association of Two Year Colleges. Will has always been a vocal proponent of defined benefit pensions. He believes TRA needs to continue to educate the public and the legislature about pensions.
Term expires: June 30, 2021

Photo of Mary Supple

Mary B. Supple
Elected Trustee
7300 Oakland Ave, Richfield, MN 55423

Mary Supple is a sixth grade math teacher at Richfield Middle School.  Past service includes roles of local president, local governmental relations chair, member of the Education Minnesota Governing Board as well as the Political Action Committee, and member of the NEA Board of Directors. She is also currently involved with the Richfield League of Women Voters. Mary believes that all members of TRA, both active and retired, should have a voice and will work toward a goal of a stable, equitable pension system for all.
Term expires: June 30, 2021

Joel Stencel
Statutory Member
MN School Boards Association Representative (MSBA)
1900 W. Jefferson Ave.
St. Peter, MN 56082

Myron Frans photo

Myron Frans, Commissioner
Minnesota Management & Budget
Statutory Member

Minnesota Management & Budget
400 Centennial Building
658 Cedar Street
St. Paul, MN 55155

Visit the Minnesota Management & Budget website.

Brenda Cassellius Photo

Brenda Cassellius, Commissioner
Department of Education
Statutory Member

Department of Education
1500 Hwy 36 West
Roseville, MN 55113-4266

Visit the Department of Education website.

TRA Board of Trustees Meeting Schedule

All Board of Trustee meetings are held at 9:30 am in the TRA Offices at 60 Empire Drive, Suite 400, Saint Paul, unless otherwise indicated.

Public Participation at Board Meetings

Members of the public wishing to address the board shall arrange to do so by giving notice (preferably in writing) to either the board president or executive director in advance of the meeting. The board provides members of the public with opportunities to address the board at the conclusion of the agenda. Members of the public should limit their comments to three (3) minutes and confine comments to matters under the board’s jurisdiction and authority. Stakeholder groups who wish to speak to the board shall designate a spokesperson.

      Special Meeting  
1:30 p.m. July 16 2018


      Meeting Agendas  
9:30 a.m. August 9 2018
9:30 a.m. September 19 2018
9:30 a.m. November 14 2018
9:30 a.m. January 23 2019
9:30 a.m. March 20 2019
9:30 a.m. June 12 2019

TRA Approved Meeting Minutes

Minutes are posted once they are approved at the following Board of Trustees meeting.

2018 2017
November 2018 December 2017
September 2018 November 2017
August 2018 September 2017
June 2018 August 16, 2017
May 2018 June 21, 2017
April 2018 May 24, 2017
February 2018 April 12, 2017
  February 15, 2017


Home | Contact Us | Search | Disclaimer | Portal
Available in alternative formats by calling 651.296.2409
©1998-2018 All Rights Reserved.